Yoga As A Means To Chakra Balancing

Your chakras need to stay open for a fully functioning body. But sometimes, for some reason, your chakras can get blocked or imbalanced. Chakra balancing throughout your body can help you advance spiritually, break down mental boundaries and expand your Consciousness. When a chakra or a wheel of energy is stuck, it may be useful to release the prana through movement. Doing Yoga is the best way for chakra balancing as it removes stuck energy from the body because it invites fresh, vital energy back in through poses and the breath. 

Before we learn what Yoga poses you can do to balance your chakras, let us first understand what the chakras are? 

What are Chakras? 

In Sanskrit, the word chakra means disc or wheel and refers to the centers in our body. They are complex energy channels in our body where our life force is believed to move. You can call it the body's spiritual nervous system. When our chakras are balanced, our mind and body experience mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual stability. Know How Essential Oils can be used to balance your Chakra?

What are the 7 Chakras in our body? 

There are seven main chakras in the body. They run along the backbone, starting from the base of the spine all the way to the Crown of our head.

  1. Root chakra or Muladhara 
  2. Sacral Chakra or Swadhisthana 
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura 
  4. Heart chakra or Anahata 
  5. Throat Chakra or Vishuddha 
  6. Third eye chakra or Ajna 
  7. Crown chakra or Sahasrara 

Now let us look at the Yoga poses you can do for your chakra balancing. Chakra yoga poses help add mental, spiritual, and physical balance.

1) Warrior, I to balance your Root Chakra. 

A balanced root chakra can provide emotional strength, like letting go of fear and anxiety. This results in feeling more grounded and secure. An imbalanced Root chakra can cause various mental illnesses and stress, affecting overall physical wellness. Virabhadrasana I, or Warrior I, is an excellent pose for the first chakra. This asana connects you to the earth, giving a solid foundation for your feet. Because the root chakra is located in the pelvis at the base of the spine, the hips get a nice stretch in this pose, releasing stale energy.



2) Bound angle poses to balance the Sacral Chakra. 

The sacral chakra is associated with pleasure, sexuality, and joy. Its job is to support emotional and physical health aspects. It governs many of the body fluids from the sex organs, the bladder, and the kidney. When your sacral chakra is balanced, it will encourage sensuality, healthy emotions, and creativity. A blocked Sacral chakra can negatively impact the physical body, mental state, and general wellbeing. To balance the sacral chakra, perform Baddha konasana, or bound angle pose. This hip opener draws attention back to the pelvic region, where this chakra is closely associated with Muladhara. Stretching the groin area aids in the release of tension in the Svadhisthana seat.


3) Boat pose for balancing Solar Plexus Chakra. 

This asana is excellent for fostering personal power and change. When there is Solar plexus chakra balancing, you will feel alive and have the self-esteem and confidence to take action and be productive in your life. When the Manipura is blocked, you will feel like you lack courage, have low self-esteem, and feel stuck in your life. By balancing this chakra by practicing this asana, you can awaken your true personal inner power and work through your fears by taking risks.  


4) Camel Pose - Ustrasana for your Heart Chakra Balancing 

The heart chakra is associated with love, compassion, and forgiveness. We often protect our hearts and close them off from vulnerability which restricts us from experiencing love and happiness. Practicing Ustrasana or Camel pose will open our heart center. When we expose our hearts, we are able to invite more love and give more love to others, thus balancing our Anahata chakra. 

5) Fish pose for your Throat Chakra. 

Our throat chakra is essential in communication, creativity, and self-expression. When your vishuddha is blocked or imbalanced, you will have a hard time communicating your thoughts and feelings effectively.

Practicing Matsyasna, or fish pose, for chakra balancing will release our blocked throat chakra. Stretching out our throats permits us to freely express ourselves through our unique voices.

6) Child pose for your Third Eye Chakra 

Also called as Ajna chakra is the center of perception, Consciousness, and intuition. The third eye chakra is the focal point of concentration during asana or meditation practices. You must practice the Child pose to balance your third eye chakra. A child's pose connects the third eye chakra to the floor, stimulating our center of intuition. By physically activating and bringing awareness to Ajna, we may be able to access our great inner wisdom. You can also stack your fist under your third eye for stimulation. 

7) Headstand for Crown Chakra Balancing 

The crown chakra or Sahasrara chakra is known as the bridge to the cosmos. Located above the Crown of the head, its acts as an individual's center of spirit, enlightenment, wisdom, Universal Consciousness, and connection to higher guidance. To heal your crown chakra, practice Sirasana or a headstand. This yoga pose will activate your crown chakra by placing pressure on top of your head. 


The chakra system describes the physical, mental, and emotional bodies of a person. The practical implementation of this theory that seeks to improve wellbeing, foster self-awareness, and bring about spiritual insight is chakra yoga. It is supposed to cure whatever imbalances you may be experiencing in your body, including those that are physical, emotional, and mental, and to guide awareness to higher levels of Consciousness, thus removing any barriers to self-realization.

Practicing Yoga can be a fun and exciting way to spice up your yoga practice and feel more grounded. Yoga, meditation, and other techniques like pranayama and mudra help you discover harmony in your body, mind, and soul. Any regular yoga practice can improve your health and wellness. Whether or not you feel it, it can help you purify your energy centers since it gives you a potent instrument to handle life's pressures and problems. 

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing
You have successfully subscribed! Use Code SAVE15 to avail the discount